Raised Hands in Worship…

This past Sunday was so moving for me.  It was the first Sunday of the month, which means communion and no children’s ministry (other than nursery).  It was my eldest daughter’s turn to work in the nursery, so she was there with my two year old.  That left me with Marissa (my 9 year old) and Jeremiah (my 7 year old).  We sat towards the front (Marissa’s choosing) and began singing praise and worship.

DSCN5124

That’s when he did it.  My sweet video game loving, monkey bar climbing, ticklish, funny, seven year old son raised his hands in worship.  My heart swelled and tears just started to flow – I was a crying mess and couldn’t contain myself.  He was singing and raising his hands in worship – and every once in awhile, looking at me sideways for approval.  To see my son standing there raising his hands in worship was just confirmation to me that my God is hearing my prayers.  I pray over all my children every morning – that the Lord would meet me where I fail as a parent and help me to raise these children to have a heart and love for Jesus.  That they would one day make this relationship their own and not just a family one.

DSCN5134

It means so much to me that my son is choosing to follow me in this path.  I pray that there would never come a day that he would refuse to go to church and instead stay home with his father, but rather his father would refuse to stay home and instead go to church with his sons.

DSCN5127The Holy Spirit was definitely moving Sunday morning.  His presence was so thick in that place, I could feel it and could not stop praising or crying.

Thank You, Father for meeting me there on Sunday.  Thank You for hearing my prayers.  I know You are working in my children’s lives – I can see the evidence of Your fingerprints all over their little hearts.

Lift up holy hands in prayer, and praise the LORD. Psalm 134:2

Listen to my prayer for mercy as I cry out to you for help, as I lift my hands toward your holy sanctuary. Psalm 28:2

I will praise you as long as I live, lifting up my hands to you in prayer. Psalm 63:4

I lift my hands to you in prayer. I thirst for you as parched land thirsts for rain. Psalm 143:6

Forever His Daughter,

Yasmin

One thought on “Raised Hands in Worship…

Leave a Reply

