Resurrection Day

He died for me on Friday. Bloody and beaten. Nailed to an old rugged tree. He gave up His life for MY sins.

They laid Him in the tomb.

And today He is risen. He conquered death and rose from the grave!

I don’t know how to celebrate Easter – it wasn’t something we did growing up.  So Easter and bunnies and eggs… it’s all foreign to me and I don’t know how to use all that in the context of the resurrection.  We also didn’t celebrate Jesus’ resurrection growing up, but its now my heritage. I want to celebrate it and remember it.  So I do.

I recently had a conversation with my mom about why I celebrate Jesus’ resurrection.  This is not something Jehovah’s Witnesses do.  I explained to her that it was to remember the great thing that Jesus did. He died for our sins and rose from the dead to show that he has conquered the grave. The veil was torn and now we have access to the very throne of God!  Why wouldn’t we celebrate such a thing?  The Jewish people were a people of celebration and remembrance.  God told His people to teach their kids the great thing He had done in their lives so they could remember and it would be passed on from generation to generation.

But my mom just shook her head and could not understand why we would celebrate His resurrection.  She states that the only thing Jesus told us to remember was His death and to commemorate it every year. Yes, we can remember what Jesus did for us, but not celebrate it.

“Mom, you celebrate the anniversary of your wedding! You remember the day you were married and have friends and family over to celebrate and remember that great day… but you can’t celebrate the death and resurrection of our Lord and Savior?  That doesn’t make sense to me.”

But she just shook her head, no.  No celebration, it’s not what He told us to do.

As I celebrate my Lord’s resurrection today, I think of our conversation that happened right here in my kitchen.  I love and respect my mother, but I don’t understand the logic… I don’t know how not to celebrate this day. He conquered the grave! I mean ~ that’s amazing! Who on this earth can die a death like our Lord and then rise again?!  He died for my sins. I will celebrate His resurrection.

Thank you, Lord Jesus for all You’ve done. I serve the only One True God who gives life and conquers death.

At His Feet,

Yasmin

Leave a Reply

