Peanut Butter Kiss cookies

Earlier this week I was invited to a Cookie Exchange party by a very sweet sister from church that I hadn’t previously met (though had seen).  I was so excited to attend my first Cookie Exchange party that I began to look up recipes right away, and almost as fast I found one!  I didn’t want to do boring old chocolate chip cookies (mostly because my cookies come out looking like crackers!), and so I found a recipe for something that sounded yummy: Oreo Cheesecake cookie!  It was a delicious blend of crushed oreos, cream cheese, and butter – I was IN!  Not only did it sound great, but I had all the ingredients.  So I didn’t bother looking at the recipe again until the day of the exchange when I was ready to make my cookies.  I was so excited to get started, I got out all the ingredients and utensils I was going to need.  First step, 6 tablespoons of cream cheese.  I excitedly opened up the cream cheese and… it was green!  Little spots of fungus growing on the sides and around the bottom.  The party was only in a few hours and I had no recipe!  I thought of just going to the supermarket and buying some cookies… but really wanted to bring something homemade.

I looked around my kitchen to see what I could whip together… and that’s when I saw them.  Hershey’s Kisses! I remembered seeing a recipe for a cookie with a Hershey’s Kiss pushed in the middle of it.  After a few seconds of research, I found a recipe for the Peanut Butter Kiss cookie and couldn’t believe how simple it was! Just four simple ingredients.

Hersheys

So I put my son Samuel up on the counter and we began to measure out cups of sugars (white, confectioners, and brown) and put it all together in Maribel (my Kitchen Aid Mixer I named after my Dominican aunt who is a baker).

IMG_2198

This is how it looked after mixing:

IMG_2205

IMG_2206 This is my Sam sitting on the counter mixing with his mom.  He loves to be in the kitchen pretending to cook and loves it even more when I let him help me cook.

IMG_2211I let him mix it a little.  Something so simple made him so happy.  I’m always in a rush to get things done, but I’m learning to slow down and enjoy the journey (just learning, I have a LONG way to go in that department).IMG_2213

IMG_2210Thanks mom!!

IMG_2215A boy with a spatula can be a dangerous thing to balls of cookie dough!  I let him go at it for a few then distracted him by asking him where his nose, eyes, and ears were while I fixed it quickly and pushed it in the oven!

IMG_2217While the cookies baked, I unwrapped the kisses.  I kept Sam busy by allowing him to play with the bowl of colorful wrappers, and it totally worked.  He didn’t cry to have a candy or anything.  He was content with the colorful, crinkly paper.

IMG_2218After only 10 minutes, I took out the cookie sheet and they were done.

IMG_2219Then came the fun part!  I mean this part was REALLY very fun! Take a kiss and push it into the center of each cookie.  Tada!  Your done!  Let them cool off and enjoy with a tall glass of freezing cold milk!

IMG_2221Yummmm….

Well, I hoped you enjoyed my FIRST recipe post.  Sam and I had a lot of fun and everything actually came out good.  The kids loved it and I can’t believe how easy it was.  Below is the full recipe which was adapted by another person on the original site (so the original recipe is quite different, but the comments section has the edits).

God bless,

Yasmin

If you’d like to leave a comment, please do so here or visit Growing P31 Woman on Facebook.

Peanut Butter Kiss Cookies

by

INGREDIENTS:
1 cup white sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 cup confectioners sugar
3 cups peanut butter
3 eggs
a bunch of milk chocolate candy kisses, unwrapped
DIRECTIONS:
1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. Combine sugar, peanut butter, and egg.
3. Shape into 1 inch balls and place on ungreased cookie sheet. NOTE: If dough is too sticky, refrigerate 1/2 hour or until easy to handle.
4. Bake for 10 minutes. Remove cookies from oven. Press a chocolate kiss into the center of each warm cookie.

Leave a Reply

